CONNECTION. CELEBRATION. ENGAGEMENT. LEADERSHIP.

Our House During COVID-19

Food Programs

Our House may be closed during COVID-19, but our core values remain the same as ever.

Connection. Celebration. Engagement. Leadership.

Our team has been working hard to build new ways to support our members and our community and so we are running special programs during this time, that you can freely access – You can check them here – ‘COVID-19 Response Programs ‘

During this time, you can find updates on this website, and on our social media accounts on Facebook and Twitter.

Please find below useful information about each of our programs during COVID-19:

Indigenous Gatherings

For details of our Indigenous Gatherings, please use the following contacts:

Family-Friendly Events

Carmen Contreras
Family Resource Programs Coordinator
ccontreras@mpnh.org
604.879.8208 ext 202

Nilda Borrino
Director of Family Resource Programs
NBorrino@mpnh.org
604.879.8208 ext 221

Childcare

We are running an Emergency Daycare program for children aged 3 to 5 years old and school age children, to serve families currently enrolled in our programs who are doing essential work during COVID-19.

For more information about this program, please contact daycare@mpnh.org or bac@mpnh.org.

If you have other questions about our childcare programs, please use the following contacts:

Jeven Bhullar
Program Coordinator, School Age and Preteen Programs
jbhullar@mpnh.org

Lakshmi Ranasinghe
Daycare Supervisor
lranasinghe@mpnh.org

Marina Hok
Early Years Coordinator
mhok@mpnh.org

Melanie Nguyen
Before and After School Care Supervisor
mnguyen@mpnh.org

Employment Services

For information about our Employment Services, please contact:

José Luis Aranda
Job Search Trainer
jlaranda@mpnh.org

Family Resource Programs

For information about our Family Resource Programs, please contact:

Nilda Borrino
Director of Family Resource Programs
bac@mpnh.org
604.879.8208 ext 221

Carmen Contreras
Family Resource Programs Coordinator
ccontreras@mpnh.org
604.879.8208 ext 202

Food Programs

For information about our Food Programs, please contact:

Kyla Kilby
Food Coordinator
kkilby@mpnh.org

Michael Volker
Director of Core Programs & Operations
opsmanager@mpnh.org

Literacy

Most of our Literacy programs are still running during COVID-19, although we have moved all sessions online, instead of meeting in person.

We are supporting all our volunteers and participants to help them find the tools they need to continue learning, and we are taking on new volunteers and participants when we have capacity.

For more information about the Literacy programs we are offering at this time, please contact:

Morie Ford
Family Literacy Coordinator
mford@mpnh.org 

Nicole Rich
Digital Literacy Lead
nrich@mpnh.org 

Newcomers & Immigrants Welcome

For information about our services for newcomers and immigrants, please contact:

Settlement Services

Thanh Lam
tlam@mpnh.org

Community Connections

Vicky Li
vli@mpnh.org

Preteens & Youth

For information about our programs for young people, please contact:

Preteens

Jeven Bhullar
Program Coordinator, School Age & Preteen Programs
jbhullar@mpnh.org

Youth

Thanh Lam (she/her/hers)
(English, Vietnamese, French)
Youth & Settlement Services Coordinator
tlam@mpnh.org

Manuel (he/him/his)
(English, Spanish)
Youth Settlement Programmer
mgamas@mpnh.org

Iman Al-Sallal (she/her/hers)
(English, Arabic)
Youth Programmer
ialsallal@mpnh.org

Seniors & Older Adults (55+)

We have launched a new Seniors Outreach Strategy (SOS) to help meet the needs of the seniors and elders in our community during COVID-19.

For more information about the SOS program and all other programs for seniors, please contact:

Claudine Matlo
Director of Community Programs
cmatlo@mpnh.org

Caregiver Support Program

Are you a caregiver for an older adult?
 Our new Caregiver Support Program is here to help!

Some of the services we can offer include:

  • “Caregivers’ Café” Online Group for social meetups
  • Educational workshops and webinars
  • Self-care techniques
  • Help navigating the health care system and resources
  • Caregiver coaching appointments
  • Services in Spanish, English, and Chinese

For information about our new support program for caregivers, please contact:

Judy Venable (she/her/hers)
Caregivers Connect Coordinator
jvenable@mpnh.org

Volunteering

If you’re interested in volunteering during COVID-19, please contact:

Amy Shostak
Volunteer Coordinator
ashostak@mpnh.org
778-897-2054

You can also see current opportunities on our Volunteering page.

Careers

If you’re interested in working at our House during COVID-19, please see current opportunities on our Work With Us page.

 

Support Us

Help people from 40+ countries, many Indigenous nations, and all generations make the most of of life at our House.